Why did I lose custom changes to the WordPress Default Theme during the last automatic upgrade?

September 7, 2011     0 comments

A core upgrade copies all the new files from the distribution over the old ones, so if you changed existing files in the WordPress Default Theme (e.g. wp-content/themes/default/style.css), those changes got overwritten with the new version of that file.

Please note, a core upgrade goes through a list of "old files", as defined in wp-admin/includes/update-core.php, and deletes those files. Any files not on the list, and not in the distribution, are preserved.

Remember, that before upgrades, whether automatic or manual, both the WordPress Files and database should be backed-up

How helpful was this article to you?

FraudLabs Pro Secured Seal